Why you should NOT get a Chow Chow

Woof. Look at that dog, that face when their tongues stick out, the way they lick your face ugh the slimy drool all over you, the way their eyes meet yours… Dogs are the worst pets ever. I tell you. You do not want a dog. AT ALL. Especially, Chow Chows. Where do I even begin?? I mean look at how ugly they are. They look like some real-life teddy bear with huge paws, a lion’s mane, and a weird blue tongue!! Why do they look like that??? I can’t stand looking at their face, acting cute and all. It’s so annoying, I want to punch their face.

All you need are five reasons to NOT own a Chow.

1. THEY ARE STRONG INDEPENDENT DOGS

Training them is never a piece of cake. They think they’re better than me? Well, guess what, yeah. And if you think you’re worth their time and effort… think again. Don’t even waste your energy commanding them, you’re just gonna end up getting stressed with veins appearing on your neck from calling, um no, SHOUTING, their names.

angry
Get back here and LOOOOVE me!!!!!

They are strong and independent, and they need no one to boss them around. They think they’re some King of the Jungle!!! Don’t think of even giving them cute pet names because sorry to burst your bubble, they’ll never come to you. Ever.

IMG_1640_Lively

Their stubbornness is not the only problem here. They can be sneaky clever! One time, I had to let my Chow stay in her cage just to be greeted by her at our living room. Well, no one told me that my Chow was some kind of Houdini because I did not sign up for this.

“Your Chow needs to know that you are the boss in the household.” – The Spruce 

“The Chow is very intelligent but not always easy to train. They don’t have the strong desire to please their masters. They seem to please themselves first and don’t respond to the average methods of training and motivation. He’s an independent thinker and will make his own decisions if you don’t stay a step ahead of him! The Chow is a powerful, regal, beautiful animal and he knows it. He expects to be treated with dignity and respect that he will return if you show you’re worthy of it. The strong-willed Chow needs an equally strong-willed owner. ” –  Dog Owner’s Guide 

2. THEY ARE TOO LOYAL

They are so clingy, they will never leave you. Once it’s established that you’re the master, you will never shake that off. They have no sense of personal space. I have a life too! They follow you around. Don’t even think of having privacy when using the bathroom, because with Chows, they stick closer than your own skin.

IMG_1665_Lively
“Hello there, my human”

The Chow tends to be a one-person dog, focusing its loyalties on the main owner.“- The Spruce

“I’ve owned German Shepherds, another very fine and beautiful breed of dog; I’ve owned Labradors, an exceedingly friendly breed of dog; but only the Chow dog has ever proved to me that he is so utterly and completely devoted to me and my well being that he’d even had the foreknowledge to check blind corners before I get to them” Wesman Todd Shaw

3. THEY ARE TOO PROTECTIVE

Their being too loyal is not the only problem because they can be so overprotective. I can’t have a nice conversation with a stranger because they’d bark at them and make sure I never leave their sight. I’m a grown up and I can talk to strangers!! Who are they, my mother??

They’re protective AND territorial. They’re supposed to be pets, not bodyguards! But no… I can’t open my house to just anyone because they’d bark the life out of those people.

Guess what, they’re even willing to fight for my life. Excuse me, Chow, I don’t need your help. I can do my own Ka-chow, thank you very much.

“Possibly because of the role of their early ancestors most Chows are excellent guard dogs only barking when there is something to bark at. They are particularly protective of their owners and ‘their’ children.” – Chow Chow Breed Council

“Chows are an aggressive breed, fiercely protective of their people and property and should only be adopted by experienced dog owners who have the time and energy to devote to proper training and socialization.” – PetWave

“Chows naturally suspicious of strangers and very territorial. They take their homes and family very seriously as well as their responsibility to protect what they love. On his own property and especially without his owner present, the Chow can appear to be quite fierce. He will seldom let a stranger pass unchallenged. People used to the warm welcomes of other breeds are unprepared for the seriousness of the Chow; guests must be greeted by the owners before the dog accepts them.” – Dog Owner’s Guide 

4. THEY ARE TOO FLUFFY, I’M GONNA DIE

They’re too cute, it’s annoying!!! They’re even killing me with their fluffiness. I can’t take it anymore!!!

IMG_1636_Lively

IMG_1739_Lively

5. THE WAY THEY LOOK

Nuff said. I rest my case.

IMG_1662_Lively

IMG_1652_Lively
Matilda aka “Mimay” & Maximillian aka “Max”

I’ve had it! They are too cute!!

You do realize that I’m being sarcastic, right? Hey, I LOVE DOGS!!!!!! And I love my Chows.

Leave a comment